Out Of Time- R.E.M. (1991)

R.E.M., an American rock band formed in Athens, Georgia, formed in 1980. Brought together by Bill Berry (Drums), Peter Buck (guitarist), Mike Mills (Bass), and Michael Stipe (Vocals); R.E.M. carved out their own niche with the skill that each member brought to the table.

The band would experience moderate success throughout the years following their debut album, "Murmur", but would soon find themselves becoming household names in 1987 with the release of their 5th album, "Document".

It was this that would propel the band into their most successful period, which lasted from the late 1980's to the mid 1990's. During that time frame, the album "Out Of Time" was released, which would become the most commercially successful album in the groups catalog.


Track listings as they appear on the album:

  1. "Radio Song"- 4:15

  2. "Losing My Religion"-4:28

  3. "Low"-4:56

  4. "Near Wild Heaven"-3:19

  5. "Endgame"-3:50

  6. "Shiny Happy People"-3:45

  7. "Belong"-

  8. "Half A World Away"-

  9. "Texarkana"-

  10. "Country Feedback"-

  11. "Me In Honey"-


This serves as one of if not R.E.M.'s best outing, pulling four singles out of this LP. In "Losing My Religion", "Shiny Happy People", "Near Wild Heaven" and "Radio Song", respectively.

They're one of the few groups who didn't go through nearly any lineup changes, whenever they performed, it was always the four original members except for the touring and session artists.

The band would release more albums until they disbanded in 2011, totaling to 15 studio albums released.

Overall a pretty impressive run.

The image used for this article comes from the website below:


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All